My Current DSLR

There is a very good reason for companies to market ‘Entry Level’ or ‘Beginner’ DSLR models.  My first DSLR, the Nikon D40, was an absolute joy to learn with.  It permitted me to get into the world of DSLR photography without being overwhelmed by all the extra buttons, displays, and other doo-dads on the more advanced models.  My suggestion for anyone first getting into DSLR is that you go with the most basic entry level model at first.  You will undoubtedly learn much more about how to take good photographs.  Don’t waste your hard earned money on the more advanced ones.  Chances are, you won’t use all the features and won’t take any better pictures.

nikon-18-55mm

My D40 kit came with the standard Nikon 18-55mm DX II zoom lens and for the first 6 months or so, was content until I decided to up the ante a bit with another zoom lens – the Nikon 55-200 DX II.  I got it from Henry’s.

nikon_55-200dx

This allowed me to get closer shots – especially on the nature trails trying to capture ducks, birds, squirrels, etc…

sb400

My next add-on was the Nikon SB-400 shoe-mount flash a couple of months later.  Again from Henry’s.

With each addition to my kit, I continued to learn and my ability to use the camera for taking photographs – not just snapshots – steadily increased.

After having thoroughly enjoyed the Nikon D40 for 3 years, I made the decision that I needed a bit more control over taking photographs.  I wanted to change settings without having to go into the menu all of the time.  I had my eye on a more advanced model that could take advantage of this.  Therefore, I made the decision to upgrade.  I knew that the cost for the upgrade could not really be justified on its own.  It was 2010 and nearing Christmas.  I had a plan!

I let it be known that I was looking to upgrade my camera and that instead of the usual gifts from my family, a Henry’s gift card would be my preference as whatever was contributed would go towards the purchase.  Everyone was very generous, with gift cards ranging from $5 to $100, as well as a bit of cash from those who couldn’t pick up a gift card, and the sale of my D40 – I had enough to get my upgrade!

d90

The Nikon D90 has everything I was looking for in a DSLR and then some!  I went out on Boxing Day and picked it right up.  After almost 4 years, I still love this camera!

Get it from Amazon.ca!

Nikon D90 DX 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera with Nikkor Zoom Lens

One thought on “My Current DSLR

  1. Pingback: I love my Nikon D90 | The Eclectic Shooter

Leave a Reply

